How I Kept My Mental Health Intact In Testing Times

“Nothing in this world can torment you as much as your own thoughts.”

– Unknown

At times, We all will go through truly difficult situations. These are the occasions while all that we do simply goes sort of flop, all that’s happening around is by all accounts seems to be going wrong, which makes us feeling overwhelmed, depressed and helpless.

In these difficult circumstances, keeping a healthy mindset is  extremely significant. It will permit you to remain cheery, stay away from distress, continue to go through the difficulties coming your way with courage, track down the possible solutions and in the long run turn the circumstances around.

Before the pandemic, the world was so beautiful, but presently it seems like the similar world looks, feels and is seen totally different from a previous one. While each one of us is encountering some or the other issue, and many of  us are confronting psychological well-being related issues due to an excess of pressure.

Everything became dull and dark, and for me and my family too it was no different. Recent months resembled, like hell, our world was upside down. We all were having health related issues and numerous things were occurring at same time and all whatever was lovely once (at least was normal) turned out to be revolting. 

Life was hard and nothing was there in my grasp other than keeping a beam of hope in my heart that one day everything would be normal again and that kept me alive. I believe, If happy time doesn’t remain for long, how awful time will remain for eternity. 

I accept, going through troublesome occasions is an indispensable piece of the life and comes to everyone. In stressful, testing times we might feel overwhelmed, discouraged and helpless. Yet, we really want to figure out how to manage this sort of pressure. 

Strategies that I have used may assist you with feeling stronger and enabled, and will prepare you in managing your sanity intact in testing times –

1. Tried To Keep Myself Calm –

The initial step is to resist the urge to panic during difficult times (it’s troublesome, however possible and sensible). You need to resist the urge to panic, and afterward you will be able to think unmistakably and make an important move to explore through the difficulties you are confronting.

2. Tried To Reward Myself –

This is a fundamental and a significant point to remember that you ought to accomplish for you and believe me it’s not funny or selfish. Pat yourself for your positive attitude that assisted you with emerging from such testing phase. Reward yourself by resisting the urge to panic. Try doing something that causes you to unwind and glad – Listen to your favorite music or read a book, or even you can have a chocolate bar. Indeed, you did it, and you have all the rights to feel better.

3. Tried Anger Management –

At troublesome occasions, we might feel baffled or angry. I had a so furious outlook on circumstances, conditions and individuals, however I couldn’t express my sentiments and that was killing me. Then, at that point, I attempted to make a random list of the things, events and individuals who gave me gyan instead of helping me and then just tearing those papers gave me a kind of relief (seems funny or dramatic perhaps, however worked for me). 

Composing my feelings truly helped me to the core. I was hurt by somebody’s actions and some other things too were pestering me that has unfolded too. I just composed my sentiments, as I believe that all my emotions and feelings are legitimate and valid.

4. Tried To Listen To My Inner Voice –

I found my inward strength in those troublesome occasions. A solid inner voice urged me to be positive at that time and acknowledge that it with practically and without any judgmental considerations or stresses, as it’s all is not in my control. Everything caused me to acknowledge how strong I can be at troublesome times.

5. My Gratitude Notes –

Being appreciative for each and all that we have, makes our life simple and positive. Carrying on with a typical solid life is an extravagance nowadays. Being thankful is a quality that causes you to acknowledge how fortunate you are, assuming that you are robust and healthy. 

I began a gratitude notes diary by recording about my friends (my greatest and super solid support system), and individuals who were there to help and are consistently with me. Having a strong emotionally supportive system and few favorable things was actually a strong way for resisting the urge to panic in those testing times.

6. Taking Self Care Is Equally Important –

To remain healthy and rejuvenated, taking care of oneself is similarly significant and assuming that you are a caregiver, it’s better to take very good care of yourself is important as well. Don’t forget to take rest. Respect the way that your body is supporting you in difficult times. I tried, it works well.

Wrapping Up –

We need to acknowledge that there are occasions that we can’t handle or can’t control. Rather, do try what you possibly can and attempt to focus on the positive components you do have command over.

Individuals who resist the urge to panic under stressful circumstances perceive that nothing keeps going forever, so this will pass as well. Rather than permitting difficulty to transform them into harsh and bitter individuals, they decide to utilize distressing conditions to become more grounded and better. We will be unable to pick what life throws as a challenge to us in our lives, however we can generally pick our reaction.

Celebrate Life 


Smita Saksena

This blog post is part of the blog challenge ‘Blogaberry Dazzle’ hosted by Cindy D’Silva and Noor Anand Chawla in collaboration with Mojo Box – A great way to sample brands before buying them

This post is powered by Blogchatter and is a part of Blogchatter’s CauseAChatter- Mental Health Talks

Published by rootsandwingsbysmita

Hi, I am Smita Saksena. I am Author of three books, blogger, writer and content creator. I love to write Stories Quotes Articles Blogs in Hindi and English languages. Happy reading Smita

22 thoughts on “How I Kept My Mental Health Intact In Testing Times

  1. These last 2 years have played havoc with the mental health of many. There are just a few left whom this pandemic has not affected one way or another. Well articulated points on handling situations when one is down.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sometimes it is difficult to not panic or be angry. No one is a saint. But we should not let it control us. You have shared some really good tips. We do not give ourselves priority, but it is very important.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The pandemic has indeed done a number on our mental health. And there seems to be no respite in sight. You have shared some excellent tips. For me, journaling and meditation have helped a lot to keep myself sane.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started